American Crossword Puzzle Tournament

34th ACPT • March 18-20, 2011


By Ranking | Alphabetical | B to E | C to E | D and E | E | Rookies | Juniors | Fifties | Sixties | Seventies | Seniors | West | Connecticut | New England | NYC | Long Island | Upstate NY | New Jersey | Mid-Atlantic | South | Midwest | Foreign | For Techies
Tournament Winner Dan Feyer
Don Christensen
Dan Feyer Wins Again!


  1. Dan Feyer
  2. Tyler Hinman
  3. Anne Erdmann
  4. Francis Heaney
  5. Trip Payne
  6. Ellen Ripstein
  7. Howard Barkin
  8. Dave Tuller
  9. Jon Delfin
  10. Kiran Kedlaya

See Results by Rank

B division

  1. David Plotkin
  2. Ken Stern
  3. Richard Kalustian

Full B Division Results

C division

  1. Jeffrey Dubner
  2. James Lehr
  3. Andrew Snyder

Full C Division Results

See left panel for all results.

Capsule History

Don Christensen
“Life Is Shortz”

A U.S. vs. U.K. cryptic crossword contest, featuring one puzzle made in each country, was held on Friday night. Britain’s Mark Goodliffe won, finishing first on both puzzles. Other weekend highlights were a crossword magic performance by David Kwong, a team puzzle extravaganza based on TV’s “Amazing Race” by Greg Pliska and John Chaneski, and a crossword play, “Life Is Shortz,” written and directed by Lee Marcus. BIC and Penny Publications sponsored the tournament for the first time. Cartoonist Roz Chast presented the prizes. Dan Feyer won for the second year in a row.

Will Shortz

Capsule history of all previous years.

Pictures from the Tournament


If you blogged the tournament, Let us know and we'll add a link!

YouTube Videos

In the News

More stuff

Solving Perfection

The following 34 contestants solved all 7 puzzles with no mistakes.

Peter Braxton, Patty Buethe, Jon Delfin, Joe Dipinto, Anne Erdmann, Dan Feyer, Amy Goldstein, Peter Gordon, Francis Heaney, Tyler Hinman, Susan Hoffman, Will Irving, Will Johnston, Bruce Kahn, Richard Kalustian, Joshua Kosman, Elaine Lippman, Frank Longo, Matt Matera, Marc Maximov, Rich Norris, Emily O'Neill, Trip Payne, David Plotkin, Arnold Reich, Ellen Ripstein, Richard Romano, Dan Sadoff, Andrew Snyder, Ken Stern, Roberta Strauss, Dave Tuller, Robert White, John Wilson.

Constructors and Officials — 2011

DirectorWill Shortz
ConstructorsKelly Clark, Bonnie L. Gentry, Vic Fleming, Maura Jacobson, Pete Muller, Mike Nothnagel, Merl Reagle, Mike Shenk, Ashish Vengsarkar, Narayan Venkatasubramanyan. Friday night puzzles: Don Manley and Richard Silvestri.
Click for short biographies and pictures of this year's puzzlemakers
CoordinatorHelene Hovanec
WebmasterDoug Heller
Scoring ProgrammerMatt Ginsberg
Database PreparerJoe Cabrera
Online Tournament ManagerPeter Ritmeester
PhotographerDon Christensen
NametagsMike Shenk
Playoff AnnouncersNeal Conan and Merl Reagle
Special GuestRoz Chast
Judges and referees (in alphabetical order)
Deb Amlen, Leslie Ann, Doug Ashleigh, Katie Carroll, Yang-Yang Chen, Mark Danna, Nikhil Dhingra, Joe DiPietro, John Dunn, Vic Fleming, Nancy Fried, Ethan Friedman, Rayzi Furer, Matt Gaffney, Paula Gamache, Bonnie Gentry, Matt Ginsberg, Elizabeth Gorski, Doug Heller, Carol Henry, Helene Hovanec, Joan Hume, Marvin Hume, David Kahn, Linda Kahn, Francine Kaplan, Marilyn Kelly, Ian Kerrigan, Bob Klahn, Joan Kuhn, David Kwong, Jeff Levene, Donna Levin, Steve Levy, Randie Lipkin, Ian Livengood, Pat McGlashan, Sharen McKay, Pat Merrell, Nicole Mobley, Pete Muller, Bob Nacht, Irmari Nacht, Stan Newman, Mike Nothnagel, Evan O’Donnell, Jim Page, Nancy Parsons, Fred Piscop, Iris Prager, Brendan Quigley, Merl Reagle, Laurie Resnick, Kenisha Rhooms, Carmelita Riley, Peter Ritmeester, Sara Sadin, Nancy Schuster, Mike Shenk, Rich Silvestri, Michael Smith, Lloyd Stableford, Donna Tessitore, Jessica Tran, Ashish Vengsarkar, Bruce Venzke, Emily Volz, Byron Walden, Penny Weinstein, Brad Wilber.

Tournament Sponsors

Games World of Puzzles AmuseLabs Will Shortz Games Try Hard Guides Crossword Answers 911 New York Times Ad stmartin

Write to Us